Artivisme

FLAGEY  9 nov  14:00 -16:00

Discussion run by Mathieu Bietlot, philosopher and political scientist (Secular Brussels), will be followed by a performance by Valérie Cordy about the Tarnac case.

Both activist and artist at the same time ; artivists continually reinvent the forms and techniques of political protests : a mixture of civil disobedience, of carnivals against the capital, of collective games such as revolutionary explosions. Dadaist inheritors, situationists, the Provo, the Yippee ; artivists use art, poetry, experimentation, imagina- tion, impertinence and humor as weapons of resistance.

In this galaxy, there are the Yes Men, the Guerilla Girls, JR, Zevs, Critical Art Ensemble, Reclaim the Streets, Steven Cohen, Reverend Billy… they overthrow and reinvent the world, and create their own weapons : guerrillas media stunts of spectacular action and photogenic happenings against the mainstream media-manipulations, sabotage or ownership of the means of production. So many forms of media disobedience.

We invite you to a joyously subversive meeting about the creative forms of resistance and their ‘strategies’ of aware- ness and mobilization within the media.

We will be joined in this discussion by :

Yannick Kergoat : active member of the “Observatoire des Médias Acrimed” (Action – Critique – Médias) and filmma- ker, with Gilles Balbastre, of the film Nouveaux Chiens de garde

John Jordan who organizes creative and direct actions such as Reclaim the Streets, Climate Camp, Clown Army and Bike Bloc. He was one of the cameramen on the film The Take by Naomi Klein, and co-led the book We Are Everywhere. The Irresistible Rise of Global Anti-Capitalism (overleaf). With Isabelle Frémeaux, he was the founder of The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination, a collective that allies art, activism, creativity and resistance.

Isabelle Frémeaux : conference leader of Media & Cultural Studies at the Birkbeck College-University of London. Her research and actions explore mainstream education and the creative forms of resistance. With John Jordan, she created the book and film Les Sentiers de l’utopie (Edition Zones/La Découverte), which explored utopic communities in Europe.

Cyprien Lepoivre : the initiator of the Artivist Collective. Theatric eruptions, non violent direct actions, unexpected scenarios, media inquiries, Belgian activist network stren- gthening, DIY, videos, photos, parties, workshops, are all techniques that the collective uses to spread the fun re- volution (the right wing demonstration “Daring austerity” incursion into Greenweek, the Clowns Brigade on the bat- tlefield of GMO, etc..).

Philippe Dutilleul : documentary director and journalist for RTBF (Strip Tease, Sale temps sur la planète). As an admitted imposter, he directs the real fake news reports “Bye Bye Belgium”.

Ben Borges : As a public reporter and a media-activist, he is actively involved in the protest movement that saw the light at the time of the Fukushima catastrophe, in the “Indignées” and “Occupy” movements around the world.

Valérie Cordy : Digital artist, director of Fabrique de Théâtre and organizer of the afternoons dedicated to “Digital resistance, crises, revolutions and artivism and hackivism networks”

An initiative by Julie Van der Kar from Gsara, an association for Media Literacy Education. Gsara creates informational and awareness campaigns. For example : “La Copy Party” (Happening/debate about the question of copyright, in the digital age, 2012), “OuiShare” (about collaborative consumerism and sharing economy, 2012), “Farewell to the internet as we know it today?” (about the issues of Net neutrality, 2011), “Facebook is collecting data on you, don’t ignore it” (2010). The awareness campaign “Artivism and media” is formed as a reflection of media education in order to better understand the setting of the story of the political opposition and its representation.

Artivisme

FLAGEY  9 nov  14:00 -16:00

La rencontre, animée par Mathieu Bietlot, philosophe et politologue (Bruxelles Laïque), sera suivie d’une performance de Valérie Cordy autour de l’affaire Tarnac.

A la fois artistes et activistes, les artivistes réinventent sans cesse les formes et les techniques de la contestation politique : un mélange de désobéissance civile, de carnaval contre le capital, de jeux collectifs comme ferments révolutionnaires. héritiers des dadaïstes, des situationnistes, des provos, des yippies, les artivistes utilisent l’art, la poésie, l’expérimentation, l’imagina- tion, l’impertinence et l’humour comme armes de résistance.

Dans cette galaxie, on trouve les Yes Men, les Guerilla Girls, JR, Zevs, Critical Art Ensemble, Reclaim the Streets, Steven Cohen, Reverend Billy… Ils renversent-réinventent le monde et créent leurs propres armes : guérillas médiatiques à coups d’actions spectaculaires et de happenings photogéniques, contre-manipulation des médias dominants, sabotage ou appropriation des moyens de production. Autant de nouvelles formes de désobéissance médiatique.

Nous vous invitons à une rencontre joyeusement subversive autour des formes créatives de résistance et leurs « stratégies » de sensibilisation, mobilisation, médiatisation.

En présence de :

Yannick Kergoat : membre actif de l’Observatoire des Médias Acrimed (Action – Critique – Médias) et réalisateur, avec Gilles Balbastre, du documenraire « Les Nouveaux Chiens de garde ».

John Jordan : organise des actions directes créatives, depuis Reclaim the Streets et le Climate Camp, jusqu’aux Clown Army et Bike Bloc. Il a été un des caméramans du film The Take de Naomi Klein, et a codirigé le livre We Are Everywhere. The Irresistible Rise of Global Anti-Capitalism (Verso). Avec Isabelle Frémeaux, il a fondé The Laboratory of Insurrectiona- ry Imagination, un collectif qui allie l’art, l’activisme, la créativité et la résistance.

Isabelle Frémeaux : maître de conférence en Media & Cultural Studies au Birkbeck College-University of London. Sa recherche-action explore l’éducation populaire et les formes créatives de résistance. Avec John Jordan, elle a réalisé le livre-film « Les Sentiers de l’utopie » (Éditions Zones/La Découverte), explorant les communautés utopistes en Europe.

Cyprien Lepoivre : initiateur du Collectif Artivist. Irruptions théâtrales, actions directes non violentes, scéna- rios inattendus, interpellations médiatiques, renforce- ment des réseaux activistes belges, bricolages, vidéos, photos, fêtes, workshops, sont autant de moyens dont use le collectif pour propager la révolution ludique (la manif de droite « Osons l’austérité », incursion dans la Greenweek, la Brigade des Clowns sur le champ de bataille OGM, etc.).

Philippe Dutilleul : réalisateur de documentaires et journaliste à la RTBF (Strip Tease, Sale temps sur la planète). En tant qu’imposteur assumé, il réalise le vrai faux journal télévisé « Bye Bye Belgium« , bousculant et détournant ainsi les codes et les dispositifs médiatiques.

Ben Borges : en tant que reporter citoyen, média-activiste, il s’engage activement dans le mouvement de protestation né de la catastrophe de Fukushima, ainsi que dans les mouvances « Indignées » et « Occupy » un peu partout dans le monde.

Valérie Cordy : artiste numérique, directrice de la Fabrique de Théâtre et organisatrice des APREM#3 consacrés aux « Résistances numériques, crises, révolu- tions et réseaux / artivisme et hacktivisme ».

Une initiative de Julie Van der Kar du Gsara, mouvement d’éducation permanente actif dans l’éducation aux médias. Le Gsara réalise des campagnes d’information et de sensibilisation. A titre d’exemples : « La Copy Party » (happening/débat sur la question du droit d’auteur à l’ère numérique, 2012), « OuiShare » (sur la consommation collaborative et l’économie du partage, 2012), « Adieu Internet tel que nous le connaissons aujourd’hui? » (sur les enjeux de la neutralité du Net, 2011), « Facebook te fiche, ne t’en fiche pas » (2010). La campagne de sensibilisation « Artivisme : Se faire entendre à tout prix » s’articulera comme une réflexion d’éducation aux médias en vue de mieux cerner la mise en récit de la contestation politique et sa représentation.